You cannot serve both God and Trump

There is a strong cultural pressure if you’re a white Christian in America today to feel good about the election of Donald Trump. Like any cultural pressure, it is felt at work, among family and friends, at church, in the media we consume and in an unspoken quasi-biblical “call” to support the president, whomever he may be.

Unfortunately this last call, to support the president, has been abused hypocritically by the church, and white Christians in particular, for the last 30 years. Where was the strong call to support and pray for Clinton? Obama? Now, because “our guy” won, it is used against anyone, and white Christians like me in particular, as a sort of strange manipulation, trying to get me to support Donald Trump blindly and “look past his crazy tweets and to the man himself.” I’ve been asked to do this by people who support him and know him well in recent weeks.

Let me be clear – I DO pray for President Trump and I WILL support him in areas that align with our call as Christians and with the way of the Jesus we follow. I pray for his cabinet and I hope for the best. I pray for President Trump’s soul and for a truly miraculous life-changing encounter with Jesus. But I will NOT blindly support any human authority. Ever.

When Jesus said we cannot serve both God and money (Matthew 6:24) he was articulating a much bigger biblical principle. We cannot serve both God and anything, or anyone. That’s one of the ten commandments, if you’ll recall. Of course he’s talking about an ultimate service – a devotion that demands our loyalty at all costs and in all circumstances and deserves our worship and thanks.

I believe a Christian can serve faithfully in the Trump administration. Or serve our country valiantly. Or pray for our president. We should, in fact. But no Christian who reads the words of Jesus and watches the life of Jesus should ever, under any circumstances, condone speech or behavior by anyone that dehumanizes, disrespects or dismisses the image of God in another. Trump does this often in the way he talks about people and it’s never ok.

In fact, personally this is my biggest concern and point of contention with the President. Sure, there are real policy concerns and debates to be had. But what I see as an even bigger concern is the rhetorical and political environment he is actively promoting and creating. It’s one of division, attack of opponents, demeaning of those who dare to speak against him and a complete lack of the fruits of the Spirit. As a refresher, those are love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

We cannot produce these fruits in ourselves by trying harder. They are only borne out of abiding in the Vine, Jesus, and being filled by the Holy Spirit. But neither can we see the antithesis of these fruits spat out onto fellow humans and remain silent. I have said from the days after the election that I will endeavor only to take Trump at his own words. So I am basing this only on what I have heard or read from his own mouth or tweets. And there is much to be concerned about.

What then? Am I just another anti-Trump voice is a sea of bitter losers? That is not my goal. In fact, I hope to meet with the President soon. To affirm that I love and pray for him. And to work in any way I can toward his success, not his failure.

I repent of all the ways in which I don’t bear the good fruit of the Spirit, I seek growth and change in Jesus and I look for ways to love God and love my neighbor well, each and every day. In short, I try to serve my master well, and Him only. I humbly call my brothers and sisters to do the same.

One thought on “You cannot serve both God and Trump

  1. Bravo, Joel. It is increasingly important to humanize this government and ourselves as our own choices of media have a particularly alienating effect on our psyche.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

