Donald Trump is a Disruptor and I’m Loving It?

On Inauguration Day, Donald Trump will cement perhaps the most incredible disruption of a political system in history. Entrepreneurs and Silicon Valley types are fond of talking about disruptors. They even take on their own mythological status sometimes as stories are told in whispers and awe of how some guy came up with an idea, bucked the system and made millions. Uber, e-cigarettes, and the mythological creature known as Steve Jobs are a few of the well-known examples.

Let me be clear, I don’t approve of just about anything Donald Trump does or says. But those in hotspots of disruption in our country like Silicon Valley, Austin, Salt Lake and Archer, Florida (that’s where I live) actually do see the opportunities that are arising out of this time.  We realize that the relative chaos and feather-shedding in so many old, stodgy institutions opens up space for new conversations about what is really working and what isn’t. Conversations about what is worth preserving and fighting for and what should be allowed to die.

I’ve personally been involved in conversations with people I never would have talked to before this year – not because I didn’t like them or wouldn’t work with them – but because nothing has ever forced our paths to cross. Of course this journey started, for me, in seeking an independent presidential candidate alongside Bill Kristol, Rick Wilson, John Kingston and many others, punctuated by the amazing run of Evan McMullin and Mindy Finn that I am so proud to have served. But then there have been these amazing people like Greg Orman, Jackie Salit, Nick Troiano, Sho Baraka, Justin Giboney, Angel Maldonado and so many more who are all working, in their ways, to advance the common good for our country. Even better than that, we are working hard to find common ground even though we may not have seen it before. This is truly valuable and exciting. Stay tuned for lots more of this kind of activity.

Now, I have to point out that I don’t believe Trump actually is a disruptor in the ways that are often seen as so wonderful, ultimately, by so many. Why? True disruption blows up a tried and true (and often stodgy and uncompetitive) product or market precisely because it offers a better alternative that consumers were wanting for a long time. There’s the rub. I don’t believe that what Donald Trump is offering is a better alternative.

Did consumers want him? Well, sort of. Few of us would argue that our broken political system didn’t need a good old fashioned disruption. But what we’re seeing play out as the Trump-ifying of American politics simply isn’t making things better, and I don’t believe it will make America great again.  Sure, some things will get disrupted that need disrupting. Some policies, I hope, that the Trump administration ushers in, will indeed be good for the country and the good of many. But it’s a poison pill.

However, instead of dampening my spirits or holding me back, this disruption is exciting me. Some of history’s most incredible movements and innovations have been born in times of extreme uncertainty and even unrest. Particularly among people of deep principle, these kinds of times offer sharp clarity of mission and provide opportunities to build bridges.

This year has disrupted my life in almost every way. It has forced me out of old ways – stodgy and unproductive ways, many of them – and is birthing new relationships and opening my eyes to blind spots I’ve had for a long time. It is awakening in me a renewed sense of calling and purpose, and a desire to work together with a diverse group of Americans for the common good.  And that’s a disruption I’m glad to endure.

2 thoughts on “Donald Trump is a Disruptor and I’m Loving It?

Leave a Reply

